Santosh Trophy: 5 former & current Pune FC players in State squad

Top News 2013-02-06 Pune FC
Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

The Peninsula Pune Football Club Academy (PPFCA) is in spotlight again with three players named in the Maharashtra squad for the Santosh Trophy 2013.

Goalkeeper Rajiv Miryala, defender Salam Ranjan Singh and central midfielder F Lalrempuia were named in the 20-member team released by the Western India Football Association (WIFA).

Maharashtra is grouped with Uttar Pradesh and Mizoram and will play their first match against Mizoram (12th February) and later with hosts Uttar Pradesh (16th February) at Varanasi.

The State squad also includes former Pune FC Under-19 players Zuber Desai and Sreekant Molangiri.

The PPFCA trio is in their second year and barring Miraj-born Rajiv Miryala has been part of the Pune FC Under-20 I-League winning squad in 2012. All three will figure their first-ever Senior Nationals.

Central defender Ranjan hails from Manipur, while F. Lalrempuia is from neighboring Mizoram and is also the youngest of the three.

Meanwhile, PPFCA newest incumbent goalkeeper Avilash Paul is on the stand-by list, which incidentally also includes another ex-Pune FC player Raviraj Kurne.

Overall the Maharashtra team for this prestigious national championship has 5 players from Pune (3 from PPFCA, 2 former Pune FC U-19s) apart from 2 stand-bys (1 PPFCA and 1 former PFC U-19 player).

Comments are closed.